Love and Marriage

25 Mar

My sophomore year of college, I took a film class about civil rights. During the first week, the professor showed If These Walls Could Talk 2-1961. I was sobbing by the end. The thought that two people could spend their lives together but have to hide their love was heart wrenching. The hospital scene when Edith learns of Abby’s death comes to mind often and still brings me to tears.

It was easy for me to get married. I don’t mean the idea of marriage was easy, or that it was easy to think about that level of commitment, but the actual process was easy. It took maybe 30 minutes to get the paperwork, and because the state I was living in had no waiting period and allowed couples to solemnize their own marriage, I was officially married in a matter of hours. I didn’t even need witnesses. Thinking of how little I had to do when so many have worked so long just for the possibility of marriage, I feel ashamed. It’s not right.

I am thinking about and encouraged by those people who have been sleeping on the sidewalk to have a place in the courtroom to hear the arguments in person. I am sending my positive energy and love to my dear friends who have been waiting for this week to come. You inspire me and challenge me to think about love more honestly every day. Thank you.

Leave a comment